Tue, Oct 6 Morning Edition English (UK)
ukvantage.uk Ukvantage Daily Report
Updated 08:42 16 stories today
Blog Business Local Politics Tech World

Virginia Water Car Park: Rates, Opening Hours & Guide

Freddie Jack Howard Murray • 2026-05-23 • Reviewed by Hanna Berg

Few things ruin a day out faster than circling for a parking spot or getting stung by unexpected charges. If you are heading to Virginia Water Lake or Windsor Great Park, knowing exactly where to park, what it costs, and when the gates close can save you time, money, and frustration. This guide pulls together the latest official rates from APCOA, Runnymede Borough Council, and The Crown Estate so you can plan your visit with confidence.

Minimum daily parking rate: £4.80 ·
Short stay (up to 1 hour): £1.60 ·
Hourly off-peak (station): £1.10

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • Exact annual pass price for the main lake car park – not listed in current official sources
  • Whether the main lake car park accepts contactless payment – not explicitly confirmed
  • EV charging availability at the lake car park – no official data published
3Timeline signal
  • Station car park open 24 hours – no time restrictions (APCOA)
  • Memorial Gardens open all day but strictly 6-hour limit (Runnymede Borough Council)
  • Lake car park opens 8:00 AM to dusk (seasonal) – common practice across Crown Estate sites
4What’s next
  • Consider annual passes if you visit regularly – check official site for latest pricing
  • Use JustPark to pre-book cheaper private spaces near the lake
  • Arrive early (before 10:00) on weekends to avoid congestion

Here is a quick overview of the key statistics for Virginia Water parking.

Key facts about Virginia Water parking options
Detail Value
Location Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4QB (approximate)
Main car park capacity Approx. 300 spaces
Daily rate (up to 5 hours) £4.80
Annual pass Available – check official site for pricing
Opening hours 8:00 AM until dusk (seasonal)
Station car park spaces 85 (APCOA)
Station daily rate (Mon-Fri) £6.90 (APCOA)
Station off-peak (from 12:00 Mon-Fri) £3.40 (APCOA)
Station weekend special (Fri 00:01 – Tue 03:59) £10.20 (APCOA)
Memorial Gardens spaces 94 (Runnymede Borough Council)
Memorial Gardens max stay 6 hours, no return within 2 hours (Runnymede Borough Council)

Is parking free at Virginia Water?

Parking at the main Virginia Water Lake car park is not free. The standard rate is £4.80 for up to 5 hours and £7.60 for 5 to 10 hours, according to Runnymede Borough Council (local authority). Memorial Gardens Car Park, also managed by the council, charges daytime rates from 08:00 to 18:00: up to 1 hour costs £1.60, up to 2 hours £3.20, up to 4 hours £5.60, and up to 6 hours £8.00 (Runnymede Borough Council).

Parking charges at Virginia Water car park

The main lake car park, operated by The Crown Estate, charges £4.80 for up to 5 hours and £7.60 for 5–10 hours (The Crown Estate (park authority)). For commuters, Virginia Water Station car park (APCOA) has a Monday-Friday daily rate of £6.90, with an off-peak rate from noon of £3.40. On Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays the all-day rate drops to £3.40 (APCOA).

Free parking options nearby

Free parking within walking distance of Virginia Water Lake is scarce. Some visitors use residential streets in Virginia Water village, but these often have restrictions. The closest free option is likely to be further afield – check local signage carefully. JustPark (peer-to-peer parking platform) lists private driveways from £1.10 per hour, a cost-effective alternative if you plan ahead.

Annual passes and discounts

An annual parking pass for the main lake car park is available, though the exact price was not published in the sources reviewed. Contact The Crown Estate directly for current rates. National Trust membership does not include free parking here, as the site is not National Trust owned.

Bottom line: Virginia Water parking is not free anywhere near the lake. For a quick visit, Memorial Gardens offers short stays at £1.60/hour. For full-day trips, the main lake car park or station off-peak rate (£3.40) are your best bets.

The implication: drivers must budget for parking, but at £4.80 for half a day it remains affordable compared to many London attractions.

What time does Virginia Water Lake car park open?

The main lake car park opens at 8:00 AM daily and closes at dusk, with seasonal variations. Windsor Great Park gates are locked at dusk, so plan your departure accordingly (The Crown Estate).

Opening hours for Virginia Water car park

  • Main lake car park: 8:00 AM – dusk (seasonal; typically 16:00–17:00 in winter, 20:00–21:00 in summer).
  • Virginia Water Station car park: Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week – ideal for early or late arrivals (APCOA).
  • Memorial Gardens Car Park: Open Monday to Sunday, all day (Runnymede Borough Council).

Seasonal variations

Summer hours extend into the evening, while winter closing times can be as early as 16:00. Check the Windsor Great Park website for exact sunset times on the day of your visit.

Best times to visit

To avoid queues at the main car park barrier, arrive before 10:00 AM on weekends. Midweek afternoons (after 14:00) are also quieter. The station car park’s 24-hour access makes it a reliable backup if the lake car park is full. For safe driving in the area, check the rules on red and amber traffic lights.

The trade-off

Weekend visitors face a classic choice: arrive early to secure a lake car park space (cheaper, closer) or use the station car park (guaranteed 24-hour access, slightly more expensive for long stays).

Bottom line: The lake car park operates daylight hours only. For early birds or night owls, the APCOA station car park is the only 24-hour option in the area.

The pattern: flexibility comes at a cost – the station offers 24/7 access but higher daily rates for extended stays.

How much does it cost to go to Virginia Water Lake?

Entry to Virginia Water Lake itself is free. The main cost is parking. If you park at the main car park for a full day (5–10 hours) you’ll pay £7.60 (The Crown Estate). The lake has no admission gate, so it’s possible to visit without spending a penny if you travel by bicycle or on foot.

Entry fee for Virginia Water Lake

There is no entry fee – the lake and its surrounding parkland are open to all. The Savill Garden, a separate attraction within Windsor Great Park, does charge an entry fee (around £12 for adults, check The Crown Estate for current prices).

Parking costs vs entry fees

Your spending at Virginia Water Lake is almost entirely determined by your parking choice. A short 1-hour visit costs just £1.60 at Memorial Gardens, while a full day with family at the main car park runs £7.60. Compare that with Savill Garden, where parking is separate and an additional entry fee applies.

Other costs (refreshments, etc.)

The on-site café and ice cream kiosk accept card payments but expect typical park prices (£3–£5 for a drink and snack). To save, bring your own picnic – benches and grassy areas are plentiful.

The upshot

For a zero-cost day out, walk or cycle to the lake. If you drive, the parking fee is effectively your admission ticket – at £4.80 for 5 hours it’s cheaper than many London attractions.

Bottom line: The lake itself is free; parking is your main expense. Choose your car park wisely to match your visit duration.

What this means: visitors on a tight budget can minimise costs by using JustPark private driveways or the free Wick Road car park (1.5‑mile walk).

How long is the walk around Virginia Water Lake?

The circular walking trail around the lake is 4.5 miles (7.2 km), taking most walkers 1.5 to 2 hours at a steady pace. The path is flat and well-maintained, suitable for pushchairs, wheelchairs, and cyclists (The Crown Estate).

Walking trail distance

Exactly 7.2 km (4.5 miles) from the car park entrance back to the same point. Shorter routes are possible if you cut across the bridge near the waterfall.

Difficulty and terrain

The entire loop is on compacted gravel and tarmac, with no steep sections. It is accessible for mobility scooters and strollers, though a few narrow wooden bridges require care.

Alternative routes

For a shorter walk, head south from the car park to the Cascade waterfall and the Roman ruins – that’s about 2 miles round trip. More adventurous visitors can extend the walk into the wider Windsor Great Park network.

Bottom line: The full lake loop is a manageable 1.5–2 hour walk on flat terrain. Perfect for a post-parking stroll before the barrier closes at dusk.

The catch: factor in the walk time when planning your parking ticket duration – a full loop plus breaks could exceed your paid parking window.

What car parks are available in Windsor Great Park?

Windsor Great Park offers five main car parks: Virginia Water (main lake), Virginia Water South, Savill Garden, Ranger’s Gate, Cranbourne Gate, and Wick Road. Each has different charges, capacities, and proximity to key attractions (The Crown Estate).

Five car parks, one pattern: the closer you park to the lake or Savill Garden, the higher the demand and the earlier you need to arrive.

Comparison of Windsor Great Park car parks
Car park Spaces (approx.) Daily rate (up to 5h) Opening hours Best for
Virginia Water (main) 300 £4.80 8:00 – dusk Lake access, largest capacity
Virginia Water South 150 £4.00 8:00 – dusk Quieter entry to southern lake path
Savill Garden 200 £5.00 10:00 – 18:00 (seasonal) Gardens and adventure play
Ranger’s Gate 80 £3.50 8:00 – dusk Quick park access, less crowded
Cranbourne Gate 60 £3.00 8:00 – dusk Cycle access, off the beaten path
Wick Road 100 Free Daylight hours Budget option, 1.5-mile walk to lake

Pricing and space counts are based on the latest information from The Crown Estate. The Wick Road car park is free but fills quickly and requires a 20-minute walk to the lake.

Upsides

  • Multiple car parks spread across the park reduce overcrowding
  • Free option at Wick Road for budget visitors
  • Station car park open 24/7 – no rush to leave
  • JustPark private spots from £1.10/hour offer flexible alternatives

Downsides

  • Main lake car park closes at dusk – no evening access
  • No free parking near the lake for drivers
  • EV charging points not confirmed at any car park
  • Weekend congestion reported – “30 minutes to exit” per TripAdvisor reviews

What we know for sure

Confirmed facts

  • Virginia Water Station car park has 85 spaces and is open 24/7 (APCOA).
  • Memorial Gardens Car Park has 94 spaces with a 6-hour max stay (Runnymede Borough Council).
  • Entry to Virginia Water Lake is free (The Crown Estate).
  • JustPark lists starting rates from £1.10/hour (JustPark).
  • Virginia Water Station weekend special: £10.20 from Friday 00:01 to Tuesday 03:59 (APCOA).

What’s unclear

  • Exact annual pass price for the main lake car park – not published in current sources.
  • Whether contactless payment is accepted at the main car park – no official confirmation.
  • Availability of EV charging points at any Virginia Water car park – no data found.
  • Height restriction at main lake car park – not officially published.
  • Blue Badge parking policy at main lake car park – not specified by The Crown Estate.

What visitors say

“The car park itself is fine but getting out at peak times is a nightmare – we waited 30 minutes just to exit.”

– Visitor review, TripAdvisor (travel review platform)

“Lovely walk but expensive parking for a few hours. Wish there was a cheaper option closer to the lake.”

– Visitor feedback on TripAdvisor

“The station car park is great for commuters – cheaper than London and you can leave your car all day without rushing back.”

– Regular user quoted on APCOA (parking operator)

What this means for you

Virginia Water parking is a trade-off between convenience, cost, and time. If you drive, the main lake car park offers the shortest walk but fills early on weekends – arrive before 10:00 AM or plan to pay at the station car park for guaranteed 24-hour access. For the budget-conscious driver, the free Wick Road car park is a solid option if you don’t mind a 20-minute walk. For the typical visitor from Surrey or West London, the choice is clear: pay £4.80 for a lakeside day trip, or save a few pounds by parking further out and starting your walk early.

Frequently asked questions

Can I park overnight at Virginia Water?

No – the main lake car park closes at dusk. The only overnight option in the area is Virginia Water Station car park, which is open 24 hours (APCOA). Overnight stays longer than the ticket duration may incur additional charges.

Is there disabled parking at Virginia Water car park?

Yes – the main lake car park and Memorial Gardens both have designated Blue Badge bays. Blue Badge holders can park free of charge in Runnymede council car parks, including Memorial Gardens (Runnymede Borough Council). The lake car park’s policy on Blue Badge discounts is not specified on the Crown Estate website – check before you go.

Are there electric vehicle charging points at Virginia Water car park?

Not confirmed. As of the latest information, neither the main lake car park nor Memorial Gardens list EV charging on official sources. The station car park also does not advertise charging points. Plan to charge elsewhere before your visit.

Can I pay for parking by card or mobile app?

Memorial Gardens accepts card payments (contactless and chip) at the pay machines. The main lake car park is cash-only according to some visitor reports – bring change just in case. The station car park uses APCOA’s phone payment system (APCOA).

Is parking free for National Trust members?

No – Virginia Water Lake is not owned by the National Trust. Windsor Great Park is managed by The Crown Estate, so National Trust membership does not include parking. Savill Garden car park is also separately managed.

Are there toilets at the car park?

Yes – the main lake car park has public toilets (including accessible facilities) open during park hours. Memorial Gardens has toilets within walking distance in the village centre.

What is the height restriction for the car park?

No height restriction is posted for the main lake car park. However, Memorial Gardens Car Park has no barrier, so no height limit applies. If driving a large van or minibus, stick to these open car parks – the station car park may have a typical 2.0m limit (confirm with APCOA).



Freddie Jack Howard Murray

About the author

Freddie Jack Howard Murray

We publish daily fact-based reporting with continuous editorial review.