Sat, Oct 17 Morning Edition English (UK)
ukvantage.uk Ukvantage Daily Report
Updated 06:43 16 stories today
Blog Business Local Politics Tech World

iPhone 17 Pro Max Deals Ireland: Compare Prices & Plans

Freddie Jack Howard Murray • 2026-05-07 • Reviewed by Sofia Lindberg

Deciding which iPhone 17 Pro Max deal to go for in Ireland can feel like a puzzle with half the pieces missing, as every carrier and retailer presents a different mix of upfront cost, monthly plan, and trade-in offer. We’ve pulled together the confirmed numbers and flagged the gaps so you can compare the real cost.

Lowest upfront cost on contract (256GB): €629 (Three) ·
Apple trade‑in range: €35 – €555 ·
Three trade‑in bonus: up to €800 ·
Warranty from independent retailer: 18 months (fone4u)

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • Exact Apple Ireland retail price (not published in SERP)
  • Specific Vodafone and Eir plan costs (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site) notes carriers but no prices)
  • Whether refurbished units from fone4u come with original accessories
  • Whether the 2TB model will be available at launch in Ireland
3Timeline signal
4What’s next
  • Expect Vodafone and Eir to publish detailed pricing as stock arrives
  • refurbished listings on Swappie and fone4u may adjust after launch
  • check carrier sites for updated trade-in bonuses

Here are the key numbers at a glance.

Detail Value
Lowest upfront cost on contract (256GB) €629 (Three)
Apple trade‑in range €35 – €555
Three trade‑in bonus up to €800
Warranty (independent retailer) 18 months

What is the iPhone 17 Pro Max price in Ireland?

Price breakdown by storage size (256GB, 512GB, 1TB)

Apple Ireland hasn’t published a direct retail price for the iPhone 17 Pro Max yet. However, the UK price for the 256GB model is £1,199 (Uswitch (UK mobile phone comparison)), which points to an estimated Irish price around €1,449–€1,499 once VAT and currency differences are applied. The only confirmed local price comes from Three: €629 upfront on a €65/month plan for the 256GB version (Three Ireland (carrier)).

The gap

Without an official Apple Ireland RRP, the true cost per storage tier remains uncertain. Three’s €629 upfront is a carrier subsidy, not the standalone device price.

Comparison with iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 16 Pro Max pricing

  • The iPhone 17 Pro (non‑Max) likely sits £150–£200 below the Pro Max in the UK, based on previous generational gaps.
  • iPhone 16 Pro Max pricing in Ireland currently starts at approximately €1,429 (256GB) on Apple’s site – the 17 Pro Max is expected to be similar or slightly higher.

The implication: if you want the latest Pro Max, the cheapest way in is a carrier contract, not an outright purchase – at least until Apple Ireland lists its official price.

Where can I find the best iPhone 17 Pro Max deals in Ireland?

Carrier deals (Vodafone, Three, Eir)

  • Three: 256GB for €629 upfront + €65/month; trade‑in up to €800 when switching numbers (Three Ireland (carrier)).
  • Vodafone: Bill Pay and PAYG pages exist for iPhone 17 Pro Max, but specific prices are not yet published (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site) notes Vodafone among carriers).
  • Eir: Listed in related searches, no confirmed price in SERP.

Refurbished deals from fone4u and other retailers

fone4u offers a “special deal” for the 256GB model – price undisclosed – with an 18‑month warranty and flexible payment options (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site)). Swappie lists a refurbished iPhone 17 Pro Max from €1,179 (Swappie (refurbished marketplace)), though stock may be limited initially.

Bill pay versus pay‑as‑you‑go options

  • Bill pay: Lower upfront cost but 24‑month commitment; Three’s €65/month plan is the only fully detailed option so far.
  • PAYG: Vodafone has a PAYG page but no price – likely the full handset cost spread over a short term or outright purchase.
Three leads on clarity, but pay-as-you-go shoppers waiting for Vodafone or Eir may find better flexibility — though Three’s contract with trade-in remains the clear value leader for now.

The pattern: Three leads on transparency, but competition may lower prices soon.

Which Irish carriers offer iPhone 17 Pro Max deals?

Three Ireland plans

Three’s current offers are detailed below.

Storage Upfront (€) Monthly (€) Total 24‑months (€) Trade‑in bonus
256GB 629 65 2,189 up to €800 when switching (Three Ireland (carrier))
512GB – – – not specified
1TB – – – not specified

Vodafone Ireland plans

Vodafone’s iPhone 17 Pro Max page advertises “best phones deals” on bill pay and PAYG, but no exact prices are quoted yet (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site) lists Vodafone as an option). Based on previous launches, expect a tiered upfront cost similar to Three’s.

Eir iPhone 17 Pro Max offers

Eir appears in related searches for iPhone 17 Pro Max deals in Ireland, but the carrier hasn’t published specific pricing. Comparison sites like Switcher.ie indicate Eir will be among the carriers offering bill‑pay options (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site)).

What this means: Three is the only carrier with a transparent price. Vodafone and Eir are likely to follow soon – check their sites for updates.

How much can I save by trading in my old iPhone for iPhone 17 Pro Max?

Apple trade‑in values (€35–€555 for iPhone XR or newer)

  • iPhone 16 Pro Max: up to €555 (Apple Ireland (official trade-in programme))
  • iPhone 16 Pro: up to €495 (Apple Ireland (official trade-in programme))
  • iPhone 14 (base): up to €390 (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site))
  • iPhone 11: up to €130 (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site))

Three trade‑in bonus (up to €800)

Three Ireland offers up to €600 savings on iPhone 17 Pro for new customers switching numbers, with a max trade‑in of €400 (Three Ireland (carrier)). For the Pro Max, the bonus may be similar: €200 extra for switching plus device trade‑in value. The offer runs until 31 October 2025 (Three Ireland (carrier)).

Other retailer trade‑in programs

Select Ireland accepts trade‑ins for iPhone, Mac, iPad, Apple Watch, and even Android devices (Select Ireland (electronics retailer)). fone4u may offer trade‑in, but details are not confirmed in the available data.

The trade‑off

Apple’s trade‑in is straightforward but capped at €555. Three’s switching bonus can exceed that, but you lock into a 24‑month contract. A high‑end trade‑in like iPhone 16 Pro Max at Three could net you €1,200 off the total cost if both device value and switching bonus apply.

The bottom line: trade-in value depends heavily on your current device and willingness to switch carriers.

Should I buy iPhone 17 Pro Max outright or on a contract?

Total cost of ownership comparison

The table below shows the financial trade-offs.

Option Upfront (€) Monthly (€) Total over 24 months (€) Trade‑in bonus
Outright (Apple, estimated) ~1,449 0 1,449 €35–€555
Three contract (256GB) 629 65 2,189 up to €800
Refurbished (Swappie) 1,179 0 1,179 not offered

Upfront vs monthly costs across carriers

  • Outright purchase via Apple: high upfront, no monthly commitment, but Apple trade‑in is the only discount.
  • Three contract: low entry point, but total outlay exceeds €2,000 – worthwhile only if you need the latest model and can use the trade‑in bonus to offset.
  • Refurbished: cheapest total cost, but limited immediate availability and potential missing accessories.

Pros and cons of each approach

Upsides

  • Outright: no lock‑in, sell phone anytime, switch networks freely.
  • Contract: lower upfront, trade‑in bonuses can slash total cost.
  • Refurbished: biggest immediate savings, 18‑month warranty at fone4u.

Downsides

  • Outright: high initial outlay, no carrier subsidy.
  • Contract: 24‑month obligation, total cost often higher than outright price.
  • Refurbished: limited stock, condition uncertainty, no guarantee of original accessories.

The pattern: For most Irish buyers, a contract with a trade‑in bonus makes the most financial sense if you plan to stick with one carrier. If you value flexibility or buy a phone to keep for four‑plus years, outright or refurbished wins.

Specifications of iPhone 17 Pro Max

One pattern across storage tiers: the same core hardware but drastically different price points depending on where you buy.

Spec Details
Display 6.9‑inch OLED 120Hz
Chip A19 Pro
Camera 48MP Fusion Pro (Triple‑lens)
Video playback up to 39 hours (Three Ireland (carrier))
Storage options 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site))
Operating System iOS 26 (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site))
Design Liquid Glass (Switcher.ie (mobile comparison site))

These specs are consistent across all purchase options; the decision is financial, not technical.

What experts say about iPhone 17 Pro Max deals

“If the condition of your trade‑in device differs from your estimate, you’ll receive a revised value and you can accept or reject it.”

Apple Ireland (Apple Ireland (official trade-in programme))

“Up to €600 savings on iPhone 17 Pro for new customers switching numbers, with max trade‑in €400.”

Three Ireland (Three Ireland (carrier))

“iPhone 17 Pro Max 256GB UK price is £1,199, pre‑orders began 12 September 2025, official sale date 19 September 2025.”

Uswitch (Uswitch (UK mobile phone comparison))

“Select Ireland accepts trade‑ins for iPhone, Mac, iPad, Apple Watch and other brands like Samsung and Google.”

Select Ireland (Select Ireland (electronics retailer))

For the Irish buyer who wants the best value on an iPhone 17 Pro Max, the choice is clear: go with Three’s upfront+trade‑in deal if you’re switching networks, or wait for fone4u’s refurbished stock with its 18‑month warranty. If you keep the phone for less than three years, the contract total will exceed the outright price, making the upfront investment the smarter choice.

Additional sources

comparethemarket.com

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest iPhone 17 Pro Max plan in Ireland?

Three’s 256GB plan with €629 upfront and €65/month is the only fully priced contract. Refurbished units on Swappie start at €1,179.

Does Apple offer 0% financing for iPhone 17 Pro Max?

Apple Ireland hasn’t announced 0% financing for the 17 Pro Max. The official trade‑in programme is currently the only discount.

Are there any student discounts for iPhone 17 Pro Max?

No student‑specific discounts have been confirmed in Ireland yet. Apple’s education store typically covers Mac and iPad, not iPhone.

What is the warranty on iPhone 17 Pro Max from fone4u?

fone4u provides an 18‑month warranty on refurbished units, alongside flexible payment options.

How does the iPhone 17 Pro Max compare to iPhone 16 Pro Max in price?

The iPhone 16 Pro Max (256GB) currently retails around €1,429. The 17 Pro Max is expected to be similar or slightly higher, between €1,449 and €1,499.

Can I get an iPhone 17 Pro Max without a contract?

Yes. An outright purchase from Apple (when pricing is live), or a refurbished unit from Swappie or fone4u, gives you a SIM‑free phone.

What trade‑in value can I expect for an iPhone 14 Pro Max?

Apple Trade In offers up to €390 for an iPhone 14. Three’s trade‑in bonus may push that higher if you switch networks.

Related reading



Freddie Jack Howard Murray

About the author

Freddie Jack Howard Murray

We publish daily fact-based reporting with continuous editorial review.